Matrix Games Forums

Forums  Register  Login  Photo Gallery  Member List  Search  Calendars  FAQ 

My Profile  Inbox  Address Book  My Subscription  My Forums  Log Out

Get Off the Beach

View related threads: (in this forum | in all forums)

Logged in as: Guest
Users viewing this topic: none
  Printable Version
All Forums >> [Current Games From Matrix.] >> [World War II] >> Norm Koger's The Operational Art Of War III >> The War Room >> Get Off the Beach Page: [1]
Login
Message << Older Topic   Newer Topic >>
Get Off the Beach - 6/26/2006 11:12:29 PM   
PaladinSix

For starters, let me point out that I am relatively new to the TOAW engine and I'm still adjusting to some of its'......quirks, to put it respectfully.

I've run through the intro/tutorial scenarios, with mixed success. The Americans took my kimchee away and beat me with it in Korea '50-'51; I managed to fight the PO to a series of draws in Anonymous Heroics, and bled myself white hammering at the German fortifications around Tannenberg. However, then I switched sides (got tired of losing) and managed to trap and destroy the bulk of two Russian armies.

So, I'm no expert, but I think I've figured out the basics. With that in mind, I got ambitious and decided to try something bigger. I loaded up the D-Day scenario that begins with the Normandy landings and tried my hand as the allies.

After I got used to seeing a LOT more units than I had in the past, including some serious air power and two naval task forces, I made some opening moves and promptly got slaughtered on the beaches.

I figured I must have done something wrong, so I loaded it up and tried again essentially the same result. Only in one hex did I manage a foothold and that was pushed back into the surf on the same turn. A third try resulted in more or less identical results, so I decided to try a new approach.