Matrix Games Forums

Forums  Register  Login  Photo Gallery  Member List  Search  Calendars  FAQ 

My Profile  Inbox  Address Book  My Subscription  My Forums  Log Out

GM Question

View related threads: (in this forum | in all forums)

Logged in as: Guest
Users viewing this topic: none
  Printable Version
All Forums >> [Current Games From Matrix.] >> [Sports] >> PureSim Baseball >> GM Question Page: [1]
Login
Message << Older Topic   Newer Topic >>
GM Question - 11/6/2007 5:37:28 PM   
Wrathchild

What exactly is the GM's job? I see that some people here play at the GM level, never managing their games, etc. I've found that I really don't like simming games, whether singly or in extended amounts. I like the hands on tactical situation. That's why I'd be better as a squad leader than a battalion commander. Except that I'm not very good at running a Puresim team.
Post #: 1
RE: GM Question - 11/6/2007 6:20:51 PM   
Frozen Stiffer

I've almost always simmed games, having GM'd only about 1 full season with a Multiplayer league. I will tell you from that experience that I would rather manage all games personally; no doubt about it.

Regardless, the GM basically monitors the team from a "higher" perspective. Effectively, they observe the team's progress, adjust lineups to best suit the team and it's performance, handle call ups and send downs, look for potential trade opportunities and for the most part all of the duties of running a baseball team, without the micromanaging required of managing each and every pitch of each in every game. The one advantage that I personally see in playing Puresim at the GM level is that time/seasons flow by faster. In the time it takes me to manage one game, you could probably sim an entire month (barring injuries or other game-halting events).