Matrix Games Forums

Forums  Register  Login  Photo Gallery  Member List  Search  Calendars  FAQ 

My Profile  Inbox  Address Book  My Subscription  My Forums  Log Out

Mid 1900's battle simmulation in TOAW

View related threads: (in this forum | in all forums)

Logged in as: Guest
Users viewing this topic: none
  Printable Version
All Forums >> [Current Games From Matrix.] >> [World War II] >> Norm Koger's The Operational Art Of War III >> Scenario Design >> Mid 1900's battle simmulation in TOAW Page: [1]
Login
Message << Older Topic   Newer Topic >>
Mid 1900's battle simmulation in TOAW - 9/16/2008 8:27:05 PM   
Singleton Mosby

So, I have never made a scenario for TOAW nor looked into enough of them yet. Next to that I am very new to TOAW.
But I am rather interested in making one on the complete American Civil War. But, before I put any effort in it at all I had some questions.

Is TOAW able to simmulate the large scale battles of the 1860's as in massed troops in one hex? A quick decisive battle and then a withdraw with troops being able to easily dissengage and be so fought out and demoralized they have to withdraw.

Like for example Gettysburg. On a 10km/ hex map the battle would take place in at most 3 hexes for each army. The Confederate army as an example in regimental scale will be 15 regiments to a division + 1 battery. Three of those divisions in each hex = rougly 50 units in each hex and 150 for the entire Army of Northern Virginia. Is this possible?
It would be awesome to play, grand in style like FITE but will I be able to make the mechanics work?

And of course, if it can be done. Is there anyone interested in joining in?
Post #: 1
RE: Mid 1900's battle simmulation in TOAW - 9/16/2008 9:34:27 PM   
noxious

Quite a few Civil War scenarios around (btw, you mean mid-1800s me thinks, not 1900 ;))
There is even a modified equipment file called 19th Century Engine that then allows you to play a bunch of CoW scenarios built for that engine.