Matrix Games Forums

Forums  Register  Login  Photo Gallery  Member List  Search  Calendars  FAQ 

My Profile  Inbox  Address Book  My Subscription  My Forums  Log Out

which scenario is best?

View related threads: (in this forum | in all forums)

Logged in as: Guest
Users viewing this topic: none
  Printable Version
All Forums >> [New Releases from Matrix Games] >> Gary Grigsby's World at War: A World Divided >> The War Room >> which scenario is best? Page: [1]
Login
Message << Older Topic   Newer Topic >>
which scenario is best? - 1/19/2009 3:33:26 PM   
training_wheels

I am relatively new to the game and plan on playing my brothers via PBEM. I am learning the game on the total war scenario and recently downloaded the uncommon valor 2.1 patch. I really like the visual improvements to this patch, but am not versed enough in the basic game yet to appreciate the gameplay and strategic modifications yet. In going forward, what scenario should we focus on playing? total war, uv2.1, or global glory? What are some of the advantages and drawbacks (in a nutshell) of each of these varieties.
Post #: 1
RE: which scenario is best? - 1/20/2009 1:50:23 AM   
SGT Rice

I'll offer my recommendation that Global Glory is the best available scenario. It shares a number of elements in common with Uncommon Valor; increased cost for fighters, variable sea transport capacity, no land moves across the interior of Africa, etc., that are all big improvements over the stock Total War scenario IMO.

Having fighters cost 3 build points really forces players to plan ahead and to be more judicious in deployment of their air power. It's not automatic that your entire stack of damaged fighters reappears at the end of the same turn they were damaged, and its harder to stack them as high ... the air component of Total War tends to devolve into massed stacks of 20-30 fighters continually mowing each other down.