Matrix Games Forums

Forums  Register  Login  Photo Gallery  Member List  Search  Calendars  FAQ 

My Profile  Inbox  Address Book  My Subscription  My Forums  Log Out

Scenario Planning: Invasion of Alaska

View related threads: (in this forum | in all forums)

Logged in as: Guest
Users viewing this topic: none
  Printable Version
All Forums >> [Current Games From Matrix.] >> [World War II] >> Norm Koger's The Operational Art Of War III >> Scenario Design >> Scenario Planning: Invasion of Alaska Page: [1]
Login
Message << Older Topic   Newer Topic >>
Scenario Planning: Invasion of Alaska - 4/25/2009 9:54:33 AM   
Bandito

I love hypotheticals, regardless of how likely they are or even if they are realistic or not. I was hoping for assistance with planning a simple scenario involving the east side of the Alaskan border, using the towns of Fairbanks and Anchorage. I'm completely new at this, but I think I might actually be able to scrap something together.

The idea is modelling a band of citizen militia arriving from Anchorage to attack a Russian guarded Fairbanks. It would be incredibly interesting to see a full scale Alaskan campaign, but because I'm new I wanted to start small. A border skirmish was what I was initially interested in to get started with, but I couldn't find many settled areas along the border to have enough capture points.

This is the extremely rough allocation of forces that I drew from Wikipedia. I'd appreciate suggestions and corrections (all on regiment scale, despite what is posted for the Russian side):

American and Allies Side

MILITIA

1,000 militia
divided into 5 regiments of 200 (|||)
1st People's Milita
2nd People's Militia
etc.

Someone's old 19th century artillery piece, pulled by a
tractor. In Anchorage, along with one regiment of Militia, as an "Alaskan native" regiment.

FRENCH FOREIGN LEGION

500 French Foreign Legion troops (2nd Foreign Infantry
Regiment, motorized infantry) from Canada.
divided into 1 regiment

1 transport