Matrix Games Forums

Forums  Register  Login  Photo Gallery  Member List  Search  Calendars  FAQ 

My Profile  Inbox  Address Book  My Subscription  My Forums  Log Out

Should I add armor and/or shields to private side ships?

View related threads: (in this forum | in all forums)

Logged in as: Guest
Users viewing this topic: none
  Printable Version
All Forums >> [New Releases from Matrix Games] >> Distant Worlds 1 Series >> The War Room >> Should I add armor and/or shields to private side ships? Page: [1]
Login
Message << Older Topic   Newer Topic >>
Should I add armor and/or shields to private side ships? - 7/20/2014 12:42:08 AM   
Fex

A total noob here, eager to learn! :)

Started a game prewarp and just no idea if I should start fitting some armor/shield to those freighters and mining ships?
Post #: 1
RE: Should I add armor and/or shields to private side s... - 7/20/2014 12:54:15 AM   
johanwanderer

I have played with both styles, one where I design all civilian ships (I went as far as to add a single weapon on each) and one where I leave everything on auto. Currently, I just leave it on auto. They get destroyed once in a while, but that's the risk of trading outside of empire controlled territories :) And the private sector rebuild them, making me money. Can't complain about that :)

(in reply to Fex)
Post #: 2
RE: Should I add armor and/or shields to private side s... - 7/20/2014 1:32:42 AM   
Nanaki

As an empire, it generally matters very little how civilian ships are equipped because, as long as they can do the job, they will do it. If they are souped out they will pay more maintenance costs but the private sector is usually rolling in cash. If they are not, they get destroyed from time to time but the private sector will automatically replace them.