Matrix Games Forums

Forums  Register  Login  Photo Gallery  Member List  Search  Calendars  FAQ 

My Profile  Inbox  Address Book  My Subscription  My Forums  Log Out

Some Beginner Questions

View related threads: (in this forum | in all forums)

Logged in as: Guest
Users viewing this topic: none
  Printable Version
All Forums >> [New Releases from Matrix Games] >> Distant Worlds 1 Series >> Some Beginner Questions Page: [1]
Login
Message << Older Topic   Newer Topic >>
Some Beginner Questions - 5/5/2012 9:58:42 PM   
Kobracan

I just got into this game. It's great. As a programmer, I can say it's impressive that it's the work of a single programmer. Kudos to the programmer.

I have some beginner questions I couldn't answers for in the in-game help.

1) Every planet shows its resources as a percentage and quantity. What do those mean? The in-game help says the resources should never run out. So what does the percentage (64%) and quantity (573K) signify?

2) When I discover a ruin, there is usually some description that says the ruins are situated in a snowy hill or lush swamp etc. Is that just flavor text or does it indicate anything about the ruins?

3) In the diplomacy screen where all empires are listed, there is colored bar background where the empire name is. It's generally longer for strong empires and short for weak empires but I checked it doesn't directly correspond to winning percentage or military or anything else. What does it show exactly?

These are my initial questions. I am sure I'll have more later on.

Thanks.
Post #: 1
RE: Some Beginner Questions - 5/5/2012 10:26:31 PM   
Ralzakark

1. Greater percentage means you will get more of the resource for your effort, so a mining station on a planet with 60% polymer will extract twice as much as an identical mining station on a planet with 30% polymer.

2. The description is just for fun.

3. Can't remember!

Welcome to the game Kobracan!!

(in reply to Kobracan)
Post #: 2