Matrix Games Forums

Forums  Register  Login  Photo Gallery  Member List  Search  Calendars  FAQ 

My Profile  Inbox  Address Book  My Subscription  My Forums  Log Out

PBEM plans?

View related threads: (in this forum | in all forums)

Logged in as: Guest
Users viewing this topic: none
  Printable Version
All Forums >> [New Releases from Matrix Games] >> World in Flames >> PBEM plans? Page: [1]
Login
Message << Older Topic   Newer Topic >>
PBEM plans? - 11/24/2013 5:29:53 PM   
eliang

What are the PBEM plans for WiF?

I have a friend who I've been working on convincing to buy this game with me for the last two years. Even would pass along updates from this forum, like... "NOVEMBER 7TH!"

But...I just realized that this won't work for him since it isn't PBEM.

That's a real bummer. In 1989, I wrote code in C for Version 7 Unix to create a fair dice server via email so that he and I could play a campaign game of VG's "Vietnam 1965-75" PBEM. I added features for digitally signing moves that each side would enter so that neither side couldn't change a move after rolling the die. Lots of heavy machinery for a single game between two friends! It might have even been the world's first dice server--only I didn't have the foresight to turn it into anything except a tool my friend and I could play one game from across the country--with him on the East Coast and me on the West. (For the record, I played NVA/VC and won ).

It would really be great if now, a quarter of a century later, all computer war-games could automatically come with a PBEM mode without anyone have to code anything special on the side, as the number of war gamers are pretty small, to further restrict the pool by having only the ones with flexible schedules be able to play against each other. Certainly the hurdles of PBEM now are nothing like they were in those days 24 years ago!
Post #: 1
RE: PBEM plans? - 11/24/2013 7:57:34 PM   
paulderynck