Matrix Games Forums

Forums  Register  Login  Photo Gallery  Member List  Search  Calendars  FAQ 

My Profile  Inbox  Address Book  My Subscription  My Forums  Log Out

A&E's "Napoleon"

View related threads: (in this forum | in all forums)

Logged in as: Guest
Users viewing this topic: none
  Printable Version
All Forums >> [General] >> General Discussion >> A&E's "Napoleon" Page: [1]
Login
Message << Older Topic   Newer Topic >>
A&E's "Napoleon" - 4/10/2003 8:58:41 AM   
KG Erwin

I'm no expert on the Napoleonic Wars, but this mini-series seems to be a good introduction into that period of historical study. Four hours is enough to spark interest into this era of warmaking, so I recommend it. The hardcore Napoleonics guys will probably roll their collective eyes, but for the casual historian and wargamer (like me), it makes me want to buy a Napoleonic-era wargame. I'm already eying HPS "Napoleon's Russian Campaign", which offers a dynamic campaign for single players. That in itself is intriguing. What did you guys think about this movie?
Post #: 1
- 4/10/2003 1:09:29 PM   
Mad Cow

I have not had a chance to view it yet, but plan to catch it the next time it is on!

Thanks for the "beer & pretzel's" review.

:D

(in reply to KG Erwin)
Post #: 2
- 4/10/2003 11:37:57 PM   
Von Rom

The fact that it was made for TV, I was impressed by the sets, costumes, period dress, etc, as well as the number of troops in the film. It felt very authentic. A&E gets an A+ for its commitment to doing historical films. . .

It was a bit episodic, and if you didn't already know the history, you could lose track as to what was happening, but overall it was very good. For me, as a wargamer, the battles were too short (heh), and I was hoping we would learn more about the man himself: why he conquered; why he was loved by the people; his strategy; his eloquent speeches, etc. But what can you do. . .