Matrix Games Forums

Forums  Register  Login  Photo Gallery  Member List  Search  Calendars  FAQ 

My Profile  Inbox  Address Book  My Subscription  My Forums  Log Out

OT - Anyone here play Civ2?

View related threads: (in this forum | in all forums)

Logged in as: Guest
Users viewing this topic: none
  Printable Version
All Forums >> [Current Games From Matrix.] >> [World War II] >> Steel Panthers World At War & Mega Campaigns >> OT - Anyone here play Civ2? Page: [1]
Login
Message << Older Topic   Newer Topic >>
OT - Anyone here play Civ2? - 4/25/2001 4:15:00 AM   
rwprice

Are any of you fans of Sid Meier's Civilization II? I'm curious to know how many of you who enjoy SPWaW also enjoy Civ2. I'm fairly new to gaming in general, and turn-based strategy in particular, so I'm interested in your opinions of this game. Do you greatly prefer one over the other, and if so, why? I'm asking so that I can try to get a feel for whether I would like a wargame like SPWaW. Thanks for your feedback. [ April 24, 2001: Message edited by: Bob ]

Post #: 1
- 4/25/2001 5:02:00 AM   
Slayer

Does Sid Meier's Alpha Centauri count? I have never played Civ II, but I love both SP:WAW and SMAC. I don't think that there really is any similarity between these two games, aside from their addictiveness :) Civilization-type games have abstract combat where you have no real control over the outcome, and is mostly about building an empire. SPWAW, on the other hand, is about taking control of individual tanks and infantry squads, and is centered just around simulating combat as accurately as is possible, while still being fun (and fun it is!). As I said, I like both types of games, but for very different reasons, so just give SPWAW a try, and you will see if you like it or not. [ April 24, 2001: Message edited by: Slayer ]

(in reply to rwprice)
Post #: 2
- 4/25/2001 6:02:00 AM   
Banjo