Matrix Games Forums

Forums  Register  Login  Photo Gallery  Member List  Search  Calendars  FAQ 

My Profile  Inbox  Address Book  My Subscription  My Forums  Log Out

EW in Russian Civil War Phase I

View related threads: (in this forum | in all forums)

Logged in as: Guest
Users viewing this topic: none
  Printable Version
All Forums >> [New Releases from Matrix Games] >> Command: Modern Operations series >> Tech Support >> EW in Russian Civil War Phase I Page: [1]
Login
Message << Older Topic   Newer Topic >>
EW in Russian Civil War Phase I - 9/16/2019 3:52:01 AM   
Fido81

I'm playing Command with Chains of War. As far as I can tell, the game is working nominally. I just am confused about a particular mechanic I'm encountering.

I'm in the middle of the Russian Civil War - Phase I, 2004 (from the Community Scenario Pack) and enjoying it immensely. It's my first time going up against the Kola Peninsula (or any Integrated Air Defense System) on an operational level, and I'm intrigued by the problem that it is presenting.

The scenario includes EA-6Bs equipped with an AN/USQ-113(V)2 Communications Jammer. When it (and only it from the whole sensor suite) is active, the "JAM" notation appears above the unit. I was confused by this, because the online literature suggests that the functionality isn't actually there because I'm not using the Professional Edition. What Electronic Warfare effect, if any, is being produced here by the jamming sensor?

Additionally, what is the default in-game behavior, if any, for an individual Command player with Chains of War when they activate a communications jamming suite on one of their units?
Post #: 1
RE: EW in Russian Civil War Phase I - 9/16/2019 5:58:09 AM   
Dimitris

Hi,

Comms jamming is enabled in-code only in Command-PE, as you mention. You can, however, simulate it through scripting. If you can, have a look at "Bekaa Valley" (last scenario of "Shifting Sands" campaign) for an example of this.

(in reply to Fido81)