Matrix Games Forums

Forums  Register  Login  Photo Gallery  Member List  Search  Calendars  FAQ 

My Profile  Inbox  Address Book  My Subscription  My Forums  Log Out

total noob needs help

View related threads: (in this forum | in all forums)

Logged in as: Guest
Users viewing this topic: none
  Printable Version
All Forums >> [Current Games From Matrix.] >> [World War II] >> Carriers At War >> After Action Reports >> total noob needs help Page: [1]
Login
Message << Older Topic   Newer Topic >>
total noob needs help - 1/1/2009 5:42:55 PM   
sushidog

I just bought this game (thanks for the Xmas sale, Matrix!), and I'm totally sucking at it so far. I've played the Wake scen about 10 times now and I always end up losing a carrier, and losing the scen. I don't mind losing, in fact, if I was winning I'd feel the game was too easy. But I'm not really making any progress so far, so I'm maybe missing something.

I ARM all my planes an hour before dawn and I usually have CAP set to about 75%.

When I get spotted by the IJA, I'm not sure what to do next. I set CAP to full, but that only gets me 10-18 fighters, depending on the carrier. The IJA sends in 60-100 planes and I lose a carrier, end of scen.

Is there any sort of defense to employ? Or is it all a matter of me finding him before he finds me?

It's still fun and I look forward to getting better at it.

Thanks,

Grant
Post #: 1
RE: total noob needs help - 1/3/2009 3:45:29 PM   
Unhappy

Hi sushidog,

Just a couple of suggestions, watch the weather - if you can stay under heavy clouds because it makes your task forces harder to spot. Also, if you have surface forces available, try to position them between your carriers and the enemy forces. They will sometimes attract attention away from your carriers so they don't bear the full brunt of an enemy attack. I'm sur you will figure it out soon.

(in reply to sushidog)
Post #: 2
RE: total noob needs help - 1/3/2009 4:29:50 PM   
funkatron3000

Hey sushidog