Matrix Games Forums

Forums  Register  Login  Photo Gallery  Member List  Search  Calendars  FAQ 

My Profile  Inbox  Address Book  My Subscription  My Forums  Log Out

A Gamers Obsevations ---- From Russia with Love ...

View related threads: (in this forum | in all forums)

Logged in as: Guest
Users viewing this topic: none
  Printable Version
All Forums >> [Current Games From Matrix.] >> [World War II] >> WW2: Time of Wrath >> A Gamers Obsevations ---- From Russia with Love ... Page: [1]
Login
Message << Older Topic   Newer Topic >>
A Gamers Obsevations ---- From Russia with Love ... - 8/23/2010 1:49:15 AM   
Marshal_Zukov

I have been an avid wargamer since high school. I started playing the old Avalon Hill games like Stalingrad, Africa Korps, and Russian Campaign. As time went on I became
interested in bigger games such as Third Reich, The Longest Day, and Fire in the East/Scorched Earth. Then SSI started making computer games like War in Russia and Clash of
Steel and off course I played those as well. Now I was lucky to find Time of Wrath and have enjoyed playing against the computer and PBEM.

Having played ToW for over a year now I would like to share some observations:

1. The game simulates the war in Europe better than any computer game I have seen thus far. The integration of land, air, and naval combat coupled with the political (events)
system is awesome. Add to that the weather system, supply, and leaders and you have got a well thought out historical simulation. Also, the simple yet elegant diplomacy system

and the technology research puts the icing on the cake.

2. The overall game system is easy to learn and each game is unique do to the multiple options players have in how they want to handle the war. Some may choose to focus on
research early, while others may want to build up your forces quickly and strike fast early and worry about research a bit later. You may also want to try a more balanced approach