Matrix Games Forums

Forums  Register  Login  Photo Gallery  Member List  Search  Calendars  FAQ 

My Profile  Inbox  Address Book  My Subscription  My Forums  Log Out

Becoming a wargame developer?

View related threads: (in this forum | in all forums)

Logged in as: Guest
Users viewing this topic: none
  Printable Version
All Forums >> [General] >> General Discussion >> Becoming a wargame developer? Page: [1]
Login
Message << Older Topic   Newer Topic >>
Becoming a wargame developer? - 4/19/2012 3:36:50 PM   
Perturabo

I'm studying computer science and I'm interested in becoming a wargame developer. How does one start? Also, is it possible to live from it/how does one combine being a wargame developer with having a dayjob?

People shouldn't ask themselves why schools get shoot up.
They should ask themselves why people who finish schools burned out due to mobbing aren't receiving high enough compensations to not seek vengeance.
Post #: 1
RE: Becoming a wargame developer? - 4/19/2012 5:01:27 PM   
doomtrader

I was waiting for this kind of post from you.

< Message edited by doomtrader -- 4/19/2012 5:17:16 PM >

(in reply to Perturabo)
Post #: 2
RE: Becoming a wargame developer? - 4/19/2012 6:03:38 PM   
IainMcNeil

I would just start making something - make some demos or small wargames and then see where it leads. If you find a nugget of good gameplay the UI and art can be bolted on later with the help of a publisher... like us ;)