Matrix Games Forums

Forums  Register  Login  Photo Gallery  Member List  Search  Calendars  FAQ 

My Profile  Inbox  Address Book  My Subscription  My Forums  Log Out

Create an option panel for in-game triggers

View related threads: (in this forum | in all forums)

Logged in as: Guest
Users viewing this topic: none
  Printable Version
All Forums >> [New Releases from Matrix Games] >> Strategic Command Series >> Strategic Command WWII War in Europe >> Scenario Design and Modding >> Create an option panel for in-game triggers Page: [1]
Login
Message << Older Topic   Newer Topic >>
Create an option panel for in-game triggers - 6/30/2021 2:33:10 PM   
El_Condoro

We know that event scripts can be turned off before a game starts but those options apply for the entirety of that game. As a campaign designer, I have been wanting a way to enable triggers in the game and not just at the beginning, so I came up with this idea. Option Panel

It enables any event script to be triggered through the movement of a button on the map as part of a panel.

As an example, what if the US > Russia transfer of MPPs could be done on a turn-by-turn basis, rather than every turn as it is now. Please note, this is an example and I'm sure Stalin would have had a thing or two to say to Roosevelt if it happened in history but bear with me! With the option panel, the Allies player could decide to send the MPPs for a period of time and turn it off when the US needs them. And back on again when the Russians need them.

As a designer, there are plenty of times I want to test something but don't want to play the whole game to get to that bit - the option button panel could help by allowing a designer to switch on an event when it's needed. Use a saved game to test what happens in various circumstances etc etc.

Anyway, have a look and let me know what you think.