Matrix Games Forums

Forums  Register  Login  Photo Gallery  Member List  Search  Calendars  FAQ 

My Profile  Inbox  Address Book  My Subscription  My Forums  Log Out

Air Transfer

View related threads: (in this forum | in all forums)

Logged in as: Guest
Users viewing this topic: none
  Printable Version
All Forums >> [New Releases from Matrix Games] >> War in the Pacific: Admiral's Edition >> The War Room >> Air Transfer Page: [1]
Login
Message << Older Topic   Newer Topic >>
Air Transfer - 6/21/2019 10:38:02 AM   
George Patton

Is it possible to transfer air squadron from East Coast to Burma, with stop in Aleutinian Is., URSS and China?
I've never tried this before, since I play mostly as japs.
Post #: 1
RE: Air Transfer - 6/21/2019 11:54:38 AM   
MBF

Possibly after Soviet activation but I doubt before that - I go East Coast --> Aden --> Karachi --> Calcutta via rail (depending on airframe)

(in reply to George Patton)
Post #: 2
RE: Air Transfer - 6/21/2019 1:07:24 PM   
USSAmerica

I'd have to check the map but some of the longest range planes, like PBY's, might be able to reach a base in China from the Aleutians.

Mike

"Good times will set you free" - Jimmy Buffett

"They need more rum punch" - Me

Artwork by The Amazing Dixie

(in reply to MBF)
Post #: 3
RE: Air Transfer - 6/21/2019 5:20:07 PM   
George Patton

Maybe also the B-17 could do the jump from the Aleutians. I've to check too.
So it's not possible to make a stop in USSR?

(in reply to USSAmerica)
Post #: 4
RE: Air Transfer - 6/21/2019 6:05:21 PM   
HansBolter

Just checked and confirmed that B24Js, which have the same range as PBY5s and PBY5As (16/20), can't hop from Shemya Island to Shanghai.

The PBYs with drop tanks get an increase in range to 19/23 and might be able to make that hop.

So in general, except for some flying boats and maybe the available in limited numbers LB30, it doesn't look practical. Not to mention the attrition you would suffer for such long range transfers.

Hans