Matrix Games Forums

Forums  Register  Login  Photo Gallery  Member List  Search  Calendars  FAQ 

My Profile  Inbox  Address Book  My Subscription  My Forums  Log Out

Choosing units for campaign games?

View related threads: (in this forum | in all forums)

Logged in as: Guest
Users viewing this topic: none
  Printable Version
All Forums >> [Current Games From Matrix.] >> [World War II] >> Steel Panthers World At War & Mega Campaigns >> SP:WaW Training Center >> Choosing units for campaign games? Page: [1]
Login
Message << Older Topic   Newer Topic >>
Choosing units for campaign games? - 5/30/2004 4:49:40 AM   
wodin

Im a total newbie and at the moment dont really know what units to choose when playing a campaign game. Im sticking to the scenarios at the moment.

Its a shame there isnt a pre defined set up to use for newbies for each campaign.
Post #: 1
RE: Choosing units for campaign games? - 5/30/2004 3:46:34 PM   
Maciste

I'd suggest you to play your first long campaign with Germans. They have very good tanks, artillery and infantry. I'd buy something like:
Armor: 2 or 3 platoons of PzkwIII supported by same number of platoons or sections (it depends on how much points you got and how you want to use them) of PzkwIV.
AT guns: I'd buy 3 platoons of 3.7 cm (at the beginning of the campaign they'll suffice). I'd suggest you tu improve soon half of each platoon to 8.8 AT, which are hard to move, but have a very long range and can be deployed out of the range of early enemy infantry or armor. The other half could be retained as 3.7, and later upgraded to 5 cm and 7.5, for they are easier to move than 8.8, thus allowing to conceal or redeploying them on field if necessary.