Matrix Games Forums

Forums  Register  Login  Photo Gallery  Member List  Search  Calendars  FAQ 

My Profile  Inbox  Address Book  My Subscription  My Forums  Log Out

Everybody take a deep breath. BTW: Any links? Screen Shots

View related threads: (in this forum | in all forums)

Logged in as: Guest
Users viewing this topic: none
  Printable Version
All Forums >> [Current Games From Matrix.] >> [World War I] >> Guns of August 1914 - 1918 >> Everybody take a deep breath. BTW: Any links? Screen Shots Page: [1]
Login
Message << Older Topic   Newer Topic >>
Everybody take a deep breath. BTW: Any links? Screen S... - 9/23/2005 4:29:30 PM   
abulbulian

I've been excited about the prospect of a decent computer WWWI strategy game for years now and have felt the pain with others on the long wait. But as a software engineer myself I never expect many of the 'game' products to release on time and those that do usually have many versions of patches to fix bugs that should never have reached the end-user. A good example of a release disaster was the original HOI, as I'm sure many of you went through that nightmare.

I'm willing to wait for a release of a decent product that has been through several iterations of alpha/beta testing. Unfortunately, it comes down to supply and demand. The demand for these types of strategy games does not have the same consumer level as something like the 1st person shooter games or even an Age Of Empires III. Thus, the supply of developers that can be leverage on the application suffers. I'm sure most of these guys helping with the development of this game are working hard for little return as of yet. While the Age of Empires development team has tons of resources and will always be able to hit their release dates barring some disaster.