Matrix Games Forums

Forums  Register  Login  Photo Gallery  Member List  Search  Calendars  FAQ 

My Profile  Inbox  Address Book  My Subscription  My Forums  Log Out

FO's and smoke

View related threads: (in this forum | in all forums)

Logged in as: Guest
Users viewing this topic: none
  Printable Version
All Forums >> [Current Games From Matrix.] >> [World War II] >> Steel Panthers World At War & Mega Campaigns >> SP:WaW Training Center >> FO's and smoke Page: <<   < prev  1 2 [3]
Login
Message << Older Topic   Newer Topic >>
FO's and smoke - 6/12/2003 7:34:03 AM   
mjpatterson

If my FO's have LOS when I "plot" the aty but then before my barrage begins the AI uses smoke and it makes me lose my LOS, are my aty still firing with accuracy or is the smoke "after the fact" affecting my aty? I would guess that since I had LOS when plotting that the smoke wouldn't matter, but I'm still learning, so please post some helpful thoughts!!

(in reply to Capt. Pixel)
Post #: 61
Consistent LOS - 6/16/2003 2:13:57 AM   
Capt. Pixel

I'm not really sure, mj. I personally don't tend to use FOs in forward positions, so I don't have any experience with lost LOS, as I never really have it in the first place. ;)

I have noticed that if I use a forward unit, like a scout or platoon leader to call in a [I]continuation[/I] of an existing barrage, that the incoming rounds tend to arrive in a tighter pattern if my calling unit has LOS to the barrage point.

I've never noticed that this affects rockets, though. It seems to me that they still scatter all about, regardless of who calls the plot. :rolleyes:

"Always mystify, mislead, and surprise the enemy, if possible. "
- Stonewall Jackson

Post #: 62
Possible means to obtain answer... - 6/18/2003 9:19:57 PM   
Vathailos

I've noticed the same circumstances from time to time, you're not alone.