Matrix Games Forums

Forums  Register  Login  Photo Gallery  Member List  Search  Calendars  FAQ 

My Profile  Inbox  Address Book  My Subscription  My Forums  Log Out

OT: sinking speed of merchants

View related threads: (in this forum | in all forums)

Logged in as: Guest
Users viewing this topic: none
  Printable Version
All Forums >> [Current Games From Matrix.] >> [World War II] >> War In The Pacific - Struggle Against Japan 1941 - 1945 >> OT: sinking speed of merchants Page: [1] 2   next >   >>
Login
Message << Older Topic   Newer Topic >>
OT: sinking speed of merchants - 7/14/2007 12:33:33 AM   
wild_Willie2

Hi there.

I was just watching "das boot" (again) and noticed that most merchants in the movie ( and in the book, which I also read) sink almost immediatly after being torpedoed by a single torpedo. I recently started playing SH4 again, and noticed that most merchants in that game need A LOT more damage than 1 torpedo inflicts before they sink .

In WITP it is the same, most transports need more than a singel torpedo before they sink. Even taking into account the relative "small" warheads of aerial torpedo's.

So, which model is right ?.

The 1 shot 1 kill model in "das Boot" or the multiple hits model in WITP en SH4 ??

< Message edited by wild_Willie2 -- 7/14/2007 12:49:31 AM >

In vinum illic est sapientia , in matera illic est vires , in aqua illic es bacteria.

In wine there is wisdom, in beer there is strength, in water there are bacteria.
Post #: 1
RE: OT: sinking speed of merchants - 7/14/2007 12:49:38 AM   
witpqs

From what I have read, there were many times when merchants required more than one torpedo. There were even times when a properly functioning torpedo did only minor damage. It was surprising to me that even a vulnerable ship could get away lightly if the torpedo happened to impact on a beam (I might be using the wrong marine architecture terminology here). So, more than one torpedo happened plenty.