delatbabel
Posts: 1252
Joined: 7/30/2006 From: Sydney, Australia Status: offline
|
quote:
ORIGINAL: praem This was not possible in the board game, as you could not place a depot in a fleet that was in full and you had to place the depot BEFORE disembarking. I'm still not convinced this is an intentional use of invasion suply. Not a big deal any how. No, that's not the case. There is nothing in the board game rules about not being able to place a depot on a fleet that already contains a corps: 6.2.5 NAVAL TRANSPORTATION OF ARMY CORPS AND LEADERS: Corps and any accompanying leaders may be transported in the Naval Phase at the rate of one corps per fleet. Fleets may transport the corps of other major powers only if the two major powers have declared combined movement during the Declaration of Combined Movement Step of the Turn's Political Phase. Guerillas, cossacks, freikorps, insurrection corps, leaders not accompanying corps, and garrison factors may not be moved by sea. 6.2.5.1 TRANSPORTATION MOVEMENT PROCEDURE: The corps and the fleet must both begin in the same friendly controlled (it may be besieged) port. They move together until in the sea area or blockade box adjacent to the land area in which the corps is to land or until reaching a port. Fleets and the corps they transport may enter other ports only if controlled or with access. 6.2.5.2 FAILURE TO DISEMBARK: If a corps does not disembark during the Land Phase it is destroyed. If all corps are destroyed in this manner, any leaders with the corps are retired from the map (see 5.3). 6.2.5.3 ELIMINATION OF TRANSPORTING FLEETS: If fleet counters are eliminated, corps they were transporting in excess of the number of fleets are lost. The corps so lost may not transfer factors before being eliminated. If all corps are destroyed in this manner, any leaders with the corps are captured. 7.4.4 INVASION SUPPLY: A depot may be constructed on a fleet in a sea area and used to provide supply for all corps and/or besieged port city garrisons into all adjacent land areas (but not beyond) at the normal depot supply money point costs. Although this is normally used to supply disembarking corps, it can be used without the need for an actual "invasion" (disembarking corps). A depot built on a ship must be that of the same major power. 7.4.4.1: Invasion supply can only be used if an unblockaded friendly controlled port that is a supply source or contains a depot that is part of a valid supply chain exists from which supply can be traced to the fleet. 7.4.4.2: If the fleet containing the depot should move for any reason, the depot is lost. 7.4.4.3: Invasion supply does not allow reinforcements to be placed, nor can it be a link in a chain of supply-it only directly supplies corps in adjacent land areas. 7.4.4.4: No more than one depot for invasion supply may be placed in any one sea area. 7.4.4.5: Invasion supply is not possible in a sea area north of the ice line during winter months. 7.4.4.6: If the route from the port to the fleet must go into or through the Dardanelles sea area, the permission of the major power controlling the area (if any-see 10.7) is required. The only restriction is that you can't place more than one depot per sea area.
_____________________________
-- Del
|