Matrix Games Forums

Forums  Register  Login  Photo Gallery  Member List  Search  Calendars  FAQ 

My Profile  Inbox  Address Book  My Subscription  My Forums  Log Out

Map question

View related threads: (in this forum | in all forums)

Logged in as: Guest
Users viewing this topic: none
  Printable Version
All Forums >> [Current Games From Matrix.] >> [World War II] >> War In The Pacific - Struggle Against Japan 1941 - 1945 >> Scenario Design >> Map question Page: [1]
Login
Message << Older Topic   Newer Topic >>
Map question - 8/26/2008 6:09:43 PM   
Lockmart Lawndart

I'm new to this game and I have been poking around the editor, but how does one go about editing the map. I saw the map for the War in the Med scenario and I'm curious how they made it.

Much Thanks in advance
Post #: 1
RE: Map question - 8/27/2008 6:23:47 PM   
el cid again

There are three different things that create the map:

1) Art. This is more or less chrome. It is used ONLY by players - and yet it is nice if it is pretty and it is vital that it show useful information at the right places.

2) pwhex.dat file. This is more or less the "real" map - invisible to players - but what the program thinks is present in terms of terrain and hexsides. Players can reveal communications codes or hex side details with the right settings - but they can NOT show terrain types - so the art should do that for them in each hex.

3) location file = wpl000.pwf - this defines other aspects of certain hexes = dot hexes or locations like cities. Economics and bases are defined here. This is somewhat visible to players but they must click on the location to get it all - although symbols for cities do show up on the map as apparent art - which they are not. The symbols can be modified in some respects - however - in their own art files.