Matrix Games Forums

Forums  Register  Login  Photo Gallery  Member List  Search  Calendars  FAQ 

My Profile  Inbox  Address Book  My Subscription  My Forums  Log Out

Boardame Conversions

View related threads: (in this forum | in all forums)

Logged in as: Guest
Users viewing this topic: none
  Printable Version
All Forums >> [General] >> General Discussion >> Boardame Conversions Page: [1] 2   next >   >>
Login
Message << Older Topic   Newer Topic >>
Boardame Conversions - 9/21/2008 12:39:21 PM   
PunkReaper

Reading the thread : Suggestions for New games. I got to wondering why more boardgames aren't converted to computer games. Instead of the endless stream of FPS and sport sims why don't developers dlve into the realm of board games. As a non programmer I would have thought that much of the work had already been done, (board graphics, rules) leaving more time for the creation of a good AI. A look at Boardgamegeek shows a number of very popular games that could be converted. For example, Twilight Struggle, Hannibal: Rome vs Carthage, Napoleon at War, War of the Ring to name a few. It seems to me that developers try to develop the more complex monster games such as World in Flames or dare I say Empire in Arms leaving the simpler games which I would of thought would have a shorter development time and therefore more profitability.
Ok now you can all gently put me right......note the word gently.....I know people.
Post #: 1
RE: Boardame Conversions - 9/21/2008 4:34:24 PM   
sabre1

+1 PR!

(in reply to PunkReaper)
Post #: 2
RE: Boardame Conversions - 9/21/2008 6:31:39 PM   
GJK

Good question and I've often wondered the same. I'm sure that copyright and licensing is part of it but otherwise we know that Avalon Hill tried this back in the 90's with moderate success. I can't, offhand, think of many others.

There's been some PC game to boardgame conversions (interestingly enough). Doom the boardgame, Civilization the boardgame come to mind right away.