Matrix Games Forums

Forums  Register  Login  Photo Gallery  Member List  Search  Calendars  FAQ 

My Profile  Inbox  Address Book  My Subscription  My Forums  Log Out

View related threads: (in this forum | in all forums)

Logged in as: Guest
Users viewing this topic: none
  Printable Version
All Forums >> [General] >> General Discussion >> Page: <<   < prev  1 [2]
Login
Message << Older Topic   Newer Topic >>
- 8/31/2001 4:51:00 AM   
ES_Sandyman

I am a designer for Ensemble Studios. We do real-time strategy games, not hard-core wargames like Steel Panthers (we did Age of Empires & Age of Kings). However, though our own games make no claim to historical accuracy, some of us, including myself, enjoy real wargames. That said, I had to grin ruefully at the comment of the gentleman who was worried because his kids were shooting civilians to test their weapons skills in the games. Age of Empires is a highly popular game (we've sold literally millions of copies), and is especially popular in Germany (we've sold as many German copies as American). I'm not saying this to boast but to make a point -- you see, the most-followed combat strategy in Age of Empires is to attack your enemy's civilians and towns! This is not unique to Age of Empires -- Warcraft, Dark Reign, and almost all other RTS games share this feature. Yet the media pays no attention to these virtual-reality atrocities and massacres. Instead they wast time on wargames, which are sold to comparatively few (tho sophisticated) fans. In addition, most wargames don't have much civilian-fighting built in. Mostly you are fighting the enemy soldiers in Steel Panthers (and rightly so). I guess there ain't no justice.

(in reply to jew_dragov)
Post #: 31
- 8/31/2001 5:32:00 AM   
KG Erwin