Matrix Games Forums

Forums  Register  Login  Photo Gallery  Member List  Search  Calendars  FAQ 

My Profile  Inbox  Address Book  My Subscription  My Forums  Log Out

Long Time CC Fan

View related threads: (in this forum | in all forums)

Logged in as: Guest
Users viewing this topic: none
  Printable Version
All Forums >> [New Releases from Matrix Games] >> Close Combat Series >> Close Combat: Wacht am Rhein >> Long Time CC Fan Page: [1] 2   next >   >>
Login
Message << Older Topic   Newer Topic >>
Long Time CC Fan - 11/25/2008 7:30:04 PM   
Derouin

This post serves no purpose other than for me to talk silly about my thoughts on the CC series!

I have been playing CC since way back in 1997 with CC1. I played that game on my Windows 95 486 computer.

I thought it was fantastic. I could see my favorite soldiers progress throughout campaigns, and the 'survivability' of the units was excellent-- the infantry to me did not seem dispensable units like in other click-fest military style games.

I could outlay my german defenses and let them have at it, and I would be assured that at the end of the battle, if I had them layed out well, most would survive, and I would have a few heroes!

CC2 was a big upgrade in my opinion-- the one thing that ticked me off was the inability to have the right mouse click work to deselect a unit. Ugh.

CC3 was great, but the soldier survivability was not so good. Tanks dominated to such a degree that it was discouraging. I started to not care about my units as much as I did in CC1, and I would often find myself using suspect tactics just to achieve victory locations. The editing functions were fantastic! I discovered CCclone and mucked about with some values and had snipers who could take out tanks. That was fun for a bit. hehe

CC4 was underwhelming to say the least. I felt the maps were ordinary and dull, the vehicle graphics were unusual at times, and it just didnt seem to have any 'zip'.