Matrix Games Forums

Forums  Register  Login  Photo Gallery  Member List  Search  Calendars  FAQ 

My Profile  Inbox  Address Book  My Subscription  My Forums  Log Out

RE: OT - WWII quiz

View related threads: (in this forum | in all forums)

Logged in as: Guest
Users viewing this topic: none
  Printable Version
All Forums >> [New Releases from Matrix Games] >> World in Flames >> RE: OT - WWII quiz Page: <<   < prev  49 50 [51] 52 53   next >   >>
Login
Message << Older Topic   Newer Topic >>
RE: OT - WWII quiz - 4/17/2010 3:17:20 AM   
Neilster

quote:

ORIGINAL: Shannon V. OKeets

quote:

ORIGINAL: Neilster

quote:

ORIGINAL: rkr1958

quote:

ORIGINAL: Shannon V. OKeets
When I got my Masters in OR, one of my professors had as part of the final exam performing a Simplex analysis by hand (no calculators), which was 25% of the test. Very tedious and time consuming. At all other times in my life, these have been done by a computer program.
What a small world! I too have a Masters in OR (Ga. Tech 1981). And I also had to do several iterations of the Simplex method by hand both for homework and during a test. Except, if I remember correctly, the homework problem required us to iterate until we actually go the answer. That took several pages and a while to do.

I do remember in one of my Mathematical Programming classes (I think it was Linear Programming) that the professor talked about the use of OR techniques in WW-II to help against German u-boats.

As part of my university maths/computing major (2003-2005) I did heaps of hand calculations of this type in assignments and exams. Calculators were, as far as I remember, never allowed in exams and we were not allowed to use software in assignments/projects until we had shown we were adept at hand computation first. In Australia we have an old fashioned idea that mathematicians should be accurate and have an attention span .

Cheers, Neilster

Hunh! Have you progressed beyond using Roman numerals?