Matrix Games Forums

Forums  Register  Login  Photo Gallery  Member List  Search  Calendars  FAQ 

My Profile  Inbox  Address Book  My Subscription  My Forums  Log Out

Surface Combat TF's hunting CV's

View related threads: (in this forum | in all forums)

Logged in as: Guest
Users viewing this topic: none
  Printable Version
All Forums >> [Current Games From Matrix.] >> [World War II] >> Uncommon Valor - Campaign for the South Pacific >> Surface Combat TF's hunting CV's Page: [1]
Login
Message << Older Topic   Newer Topic >>
Surface Combat TF's hunting CV's - 9/11/2002 12:08:58 PM   
ganthony91

I have engaged and crippled several enemy CV's. I have a Surface Combat Task Force in the immediate vicinity I am racing over to try to locate, close with and destroy the mangled carriers before they limp into port. What is the best way to go about doing this? I have land based search aircraft that have no trouble locating the targets, not to mention organic spotter aircraft, but cant seem to get my surface groups to engage. It seems moving them into a projected transit hex is hit or miss if they will bump into a target in the open ocean. Seems like, with spotting reports from the air, they would have no trouble engaging a big burning target limping along at 3-4 kts. Any thoughts?
Post #: 1
- 9/11/2002 2:54:04 PM   
jive1

Unfortunatly it is hit ot miss - unless you correctly guess the hex they will end their move in you won't catch them. There is no
test to see if your paths cross during a move.
Something I hope will one day be changed.

So drink to the Black Cat PBY, damnedest old plane in all God's sky,
BB-gun for'd and a slingshot aft, Hundred twenty knots when in a forced draft.

(in reply to ganthony91)
Post #: 2
- 9/11/2002 8:36:15 PM   
Beckles

It's tough to do it, but it can be done, an early post of mine:

http://www.matrixgames.com/forums/showthread.php?s=&threadid=20048