Matrix Games Forums

Forums  Register  Login  Photo Gallery  Member List  Search  Calendars  FAQ 

My Profile  Inbox  Address Book  My Subscription  My Forums  Log Out

Arracourt 44

View related threads: (in this forum | in all forums)

Logged in as: Guest
Users viewing this topic: none
  Printable Version
All Forums >> [Current Games From Matrix.] >> [World War II] >> Norm Koger's The Operational Art Of War III >> After Action Reports >> Arracourt 44 Page: [1]
Login
Message << Older Topic   Newer Topic >>
Arracourt 44 - 3/22/2011 7:03:11 AM   
emcgman

Up till now I have been mainly playing the SSG games, so I am new to the workings of TOAW.

Here is how I beat Arracourt 44. I wanted to start with a small scenario, of course. It took took me roughly 6 tries as both Allies and Germans, before I finally won a major victory with the Allies.

Looking for feedback of course.

1) Created a defensive line based on unit placement after first turn of Germans. I took enough ground to create a decent line. I kept digging in until I had max entrechment with all units.

2) I bombarded the hell out of front line German infantry units with guns and beginning on turn 4, I believe, with aircraft.

3) About turn 5, I circled a small tank unit behind enemy lines and captured the remaining vp's. Of course they were taken back next turn, but it diverted major German units from the front line. I was then able to win a couple good battles on the front. When my small tank unit was wiped out, I sent another small tank unit on the exact same mission! LOL.

I felt # 3 was a little bit cheating kind of tactic, so please let me know if it perfectly legit wargame strategy tactic.

Thanks again in advance for your feedback.
Post #: 1
RE: Arracourt 44 - 3/22/2011 7:21:34 AM   
Oberst_Klink

quote:

ORIGINAL: emcgman

Up till now I have been mainly playing the SSG games, so I am new to the workings of TOAW.