Matrix Games Forums

Forums  Register  Login  Photo Gallery  Member List  Search  Calendars  FAQ 

My Profile  Inbox  Address Book  My Subscription  My Forums  Log Out

Is there a downside to colonizing every planet early game?

View related threads: (in this forum | in all forums)

Logged in as: Guest
Users viewing this topic: none
  Printable Version
All Forums >> [New Releases from Matrix Games] >> Distant Worlds 1 Series >> The War Room >> Is there a downside to colonizing every planet early game? Page: [1] 2   next >   >>
Login
Message << Older Topic   Newer Topic >>
Is there a downside to colonizing every planet early game? - 4/2/2011 11:55:13 PM   
Omniblivion

Greetings!

I'm still pretty new at this game, although I'm catching on pretty quickly. One question: is there a real downside to colonizing most available planets early game? IE: I have a couple relatively nearby systems with 50-60% quality and average resources. Other than the cost of the colony ship, is there any other reason I shouldn't be colonizing them? I've found that just popping these up pretty early along with bare-bones small space stations start to generate revenue pretty quickly.

Post #: 1
RE: Is there a downside to colonizing every planet earl... - 4/2/2011 11:56:03 PM   
Omniblivion

Also, to clarify, by "every planet"/"Available planets" I mean ones that which I am able to colonize based on my race/tech :)

(in reply to Omniblivion)
Post #: 2
RE: Is there a downside to colonizing every planet earl... - 4/3/2011 12:18:28 AM   
cookie monster

Check out this thread

http://www.matrixgames.com/forums/tm.asp?m=2753358

Colonies above 50% quality are automatically selected for colonising by the engine unless you've turned off auto colonisation

You can see from the expansion planner which planets to colonise

Or from the potential colonies list in the main game window on the left

Just click on a 50% plus colony to make/send a ship there