Matrix Games Forums

Forums  Register  Login  Photo Gallery  Member List  Search  Calendars  FAQ 

My Profile  Inbox  Address Book  My Subscription  My Forums  Log Out

New Guy, Tactics

View related threads: (in this forum | in all forums)

Logged in as: Guest
Users viewing this topic: none
  Printable Version
All Forums >> [Current Games From Matrix.] >> [World War II] >> Steel Panthers World At War & Mega Campaigns >> New Guy, Tactics Page: [1] 2   next >   >>
Login
Message << Older Topic   Newer Topic >>
New Guy, Tactics - 12/28/2000 5:29:00 AM   
CINC Patrick

I am brand new to SPWAW but have always enjoyed a good wargame and am quite a history buff. This game comes highly recommended to me by a friend and I have been browsing the forums here and it would seem that it is quite fun. I was just wondering if any of you could offer some BASIC tips. I have noticed that many of these discussions can become quite in depth but I just want some of the basics for now. Thanks for all of your help. Later, Patrick

Post #: 1
- 12/28/2000 5:54:00 AM   
Don Doom

Just for starters, you need to have a balenced force of armor,infanty, & artillary. A good mix[combined arms force], will enable you to handle just about anything that your oponet can through at you. Well maybe not what Mr Wild Bill can dream up. Start with the beginners battle and learn from it. Then try some of the battles that are in the game. In other words just try a mix of tanks,infanty and artillary and work up to what works best with your style. You can use the search engin here to find the post on tactics, which will list some good books on tactics your can use. Rommals and Guderians books come to mind. Good Luck Don D.

Doom
Vet of the Russian General Winter
For death is only the begining

(in reply to CINC Patrick)
Post #: 2
- 12/28/2000 6:01:00 AM   
CINC Patrick