Matrix Games Forums

Forums  Register  Login  Photo Gallery  Member List  Search  Calendars  FAQ 

My Profile  Inbox  Address Book  My Subscription  My Forums  Log Out

A new player's impressions / proposals / questions

View related threads: (in this forum | in all forums)

Logged in as: Guest
Users viewing this topic: none
  Printable Version
All Forums >> [New Releases from Matrix Games] >> Distant Worlds 1 Series >> A new player's impressions / proposals / questions Page: [1]
Login
Message << Older Topic   Newer Topic >>
A new player's impressions / proposals / questions - 1/3/2012 2:41:15 PM   
Deggial

Hello to all and a happy new year 2012!

As you might assume from my posting numbers, I'm quite new to DW. (And, as you might assume as well, I'm not a native speaker. So please forgive my imperfect English...)

I just bought the main game and the first expansion (RotS) before Christmas and had the opportunity to try the game over my holidays. And I really like it!
Usually, I'm more into turn based games on earthy terrain (e.g. the "Civilization" series) and after the underwhelming MOO3, "Distant Worlds" is my first try in a real time Space empire game. DW re-established my faith in this genre! ;)

--

Usually, I don't like when people try to make suggestions for improvement without knowing a game in and out. But then, I thought, maybe the first impression has it's own merits. Later on, you get used to how things are. You just learn to live with them, but it doesn't make this issues better.

I don't own the "Legends" expansion. So I didn't want to write all these proposals in the "Master whish list"-thread, as they might already be implemented in the new release. I would love to read, if this is the case.
Additionally, I hope that the points in the list are not based on my lack of knowledge about how the game works. Please tell me, if there are easy possibilities to avoid the mentioned issues.

-------------------------