Matrix Games Forums

Forums  Register  Login  Photo Gallery  Member List  Search  Calendars  FAQ 

My Profile  Inbox  Address Book  My Subscription  My Forums  Log Out

Beginner Advice

View related threads: (in this forum | in all forums)

Logged in as: Guest
Users viewing this topic: none
  Printable Version
All Forums >> [New Releases from Matrix Games] >> Distant Worlds 1 Series >> Beginner Advice Page: [1]
Login
Message << Older Topic   Newer Topic >>
Beginner Advice - 4/25/2012 9:10:07 PM   
Tegramon

Hi

I just started playing and I need some advice.
I play with research automation set to off, and also fleet formation to off.

My question is, I always remain without fuel during travel for my fleets. What must I build to ressuply? Gas stations?
The research tree is very stocky. On what weapons would you concentrate best?
Post #: 1
RE: Beginner Advice - 4/25/2012 11:19:48 PM   
Registered55

depends on your level of research you begin with,

i generally start slowly, very slowly....

i make sure the static energy use is covered by energy collector,
i keep my military force quite still, no fuel use,
i take care of most things myself at the beginning of the game, mainly because i can do it.

setting up the basic economy is very hard, difficult, and requires patience..... do not over extend your economy.
in other words don't be too quick to grow.....

only on very small galaxy size, or if you are really unlucky to be really close to another race should you rush at the start of the game.

also i try design my ships so they can hold a lot of fuel, and remember the AI is very wasteful with ship movement at the start of the game, so i take full control of my fleets until my basic economy is up and running.

(in reply to Tegramon)
Post #: 2
RE: Beginner Advice - 4/25/2012 11:51:32 PM   
Tegramon

Static Energy use? It's the first time I hear about that ...

(in reply to Registered55)
Post #: 3
RE: Beginner Advice - 4/26/2012 12:02:18 AM   
Tegramon