Matrix Games Forums

Forums  Register  Login  Photo Gallery  Member List  Search  Calendars  FAQ 

My Profile  Inbox  Address Book  My Subscription  My Forums  Log Out

Roads?

View related threads: (in this forum | in all forums)

Logged in as: Guest
Users viewing this topic: none
  Printable Version
All Forums >> [New Releases from Matrix Games] >> Gary Grigsby's War in the East Series >> Roads? Page: [1]
Login
Message << Older Topic   Newer Topic >>
Roads? - 1/7/2013 3:23:34 PM   
Gallo Rojo

Cheers,
I'm new to WITE and after have tried my first "road to..." scenarios there is something that suddenly pop up in my mind: "where are the roads?"
The game includes and nicely models railroad for unit's strategic movement and supply network, but controlling main roads was key issue both for fast advances and exploitation after breaks were open in the front-lines. So where are the roads and why are they missing in the game?

The bayonet is a weapon with a worker on each end
Post #: 1
RE: Roads? - 1/7/2013 4:04:13 PM   
elmo3

They are not missing. It was a design decision to leave them out. I'm sure the Germans asked the same question when they invaded: "Where are the roads?!".

We don't stop playing because we grow old, we grow old because we stop playing. - George Bernard Shaw

WitE alpha/beta tester
Sanctus Reach beta tester
Desert War 1940-42 beta tester

(in reply to Gallo Rojo)
Post #: 2
RE: Roads? - 1/7/2013 6:20:21 PM   
Apollo11

Hi all,

The scale of HEXes is too big for roads to be explicitly shown... the roads are approximated in terrain type...

Leo "Apollo11"

Prior Preparation & Planning Prevents Pathetically Poor Performance!

A & B: WitW, WitE, WbtS, GGWaW, GGWaW2-AWD, HttR, CotA, BftB, CF
P: UV, WitP, WitP-AE

(in reply to Gallo Rojo)
Post #: 3
RE: Roads? - 1/14/2013 9:47:41 AM   
Mehring