Matrix Games Forums

Forums  Register  Login  Photo Gallery  Member List  Search  Calendars  FAQ 

My Profile  Inbox  Address Book  My Subscription  My Forums  Log Out

Can't save or load games in DW:U

View related threads: (in this forum | in all forums)

Logged in as: Guest
Users viewing this topic: none
  Printable Version
All Forums >> [New Releases from Matrix Games] >> Distant Worlds 1 Series >> Tech Support >> Can't save or load games in DW:U Page: [1]
Login
Message << Older Topic   Newer Topic >>
Can't save or load games in DW:U - 6/15/2014 7:03:38 AM   
zotres

I just started playing DW:U and I've found I can't manually save or load games. I don't have any problem starting new games.

When I choose to save a game manually it seems to hang and never return, although the system continues to show the process is using CPU. A new save game file appears in the standard save folder so the saving part seems to work, so my guesss is that it's probably not file permission problems. The game windows are never redrawn and control never returns. Strange thing is the autosaves work just fine - the notice shows up and disappears quickly during the game and the autosave files are present in the save folder.

The same thing happens when I try to load a saved game, either a manual save or an autosave file. The game just seems to hang although again the system shows it's still using CPU time.

I tried shutting down my firewall and that didn't help.

Game version: 1.9.5.3

Any ideas? Thanks!

Post #: 1
RE: Can't save or load games in DW:U - 6/15/2014 7:41:59 AM   
Bingeling

Weird.

Try check you disk for errors:

http://windows.microsoft.com/en-us/windows-vista/check-your-hard-disk-for-errors

And try run some antivirus and malwarebytes to see if any fun stuff is interfering.

(in reply to zotres)
Post #: 2
RE: Can't save or load games in DW:U - 6/15/2014 8:26:49 AM   
Florestan

quote:

I tried shutting down my firewall and that didn't help.