Matrix Games Forums

Forums  Register  Login  Photo Gallery  Member List  Search  Calendars  FAQ 

My Profile  Inbox  Address Book  My Subscription  My Forums  Log Out

Imperceptible's High Visibility Resource Icons

View related threads: (in this forum | in all forums)

Logged in as: Guest
Users viewing this topic: none
  Printable Version
All Forums >> [New Releases from Matrix Games] >> Distant Worlds 1 Series >> Design and Modding >> Imperceptible's High Visibility Resource Icons Page: [1]
Login
Message << Older Topic   Newer Topic >>
Imperceptible's High Visibility Resource Icons - 6/28/2014 1:38:59 PM   
Imperceptible

This is a resource icon mod, designed especially to make resource recognition in game very easy - or at least easier - than the default icons. It is heavily inspired by Sirian's original resource mod and later by Das's icons.

Well, I'm new to Illustrator (all icons are made in Illustrator CS6). I'd never used the program before. It took about a week for me to learn it, then I found that when designing the icons, I'd forgotten everything I'd learned! So, it took about another week to actually apply the knowledge to the task in hand!

I tried (I really did), to make icon based luxury icons, but the subletly of gradients and other shading, and the distinguishing between 4 types of alcohol was... problematical and mainly got washed away in-game. In the end I opted for text and colour. It makes visual recognition even on the Galaxy map pretty easy!

I found two main problems with Sirian's and Das's resource icon mods.

1. With Sirian's, it made most of the resource icons distinct, but still made it difficult to tell strategic from luxury icons.