Matrix Games Forums

Forums  Register  Login  Photo Gallery  Member List  Search  Calendars  FAQ 

My Profile  Inbox  Address Book  My Subscription  My Forums  Log Out

How to survive in Pre-Warp?

View related threads: (in this forum | in all forums)

Logged in as: Guest
Users viewing this topic: none
  Printable Version
All Forums >> [New Releases from Matrix Games] >> Distant Worlds 1 Series >> How to survive in Pre-Warp? Page: [1]
Login
Message << Older Topic   Newer Topic >>
How to survive in Pre-Warp? - 8/29/2014 11:16:38 AM   
Skunkpuppy

I'm new to this game. I'm trying to survive as a standard Pre-Warp empire in the Age of Shadows. It's really hard! Pirates are everywhere, and they are all demanding exorbitant protection fees. My economy is too small to build many ships, and they have huge ass cruisers or even capital ships. What is a small weak empire to do?
Post #: 1
RE: How to survive in Pre-Warp? - 8/29/2014 11:59:32 AM   
Evan85

I has the opposite problem... I get so much ahead of other empires that prewarp games lose the challenge. Also true with AI improvement mod - it makes pirates so tough that they totally cripple AI empires.

Guess that means you're doing something wrong. Since there are so many things one can screw up, I'd suggest a thorough, comprehensive tutorial that covers most aspects of DW:U.

Here: http://www.matrixgames.com/forums/tm.asp?m=3508583

Why can't I make friends? Only my Nuclear Devastator understands me.

(in reply to Skunkpuppy)
Post #: 2
RE: How to survive in Pre-Warp? - 8/29/2014 12:08:39 PM   
Hikikomori

Pirates are mean, and in a Pre-Warp start, they can find derelict ships with advanced tech. You can find them too, but they get them with warpdrives(since they got the tech) and are mobile and scouting systems from the first day.

If they find one or two of those, you are screwed.