Matrix Games Forums

Forums  Register  Login  Photo Gallery  Member List  Search  Calendars  FAQ 

My Profile  Inbox  Address Book  My Subscription  My Forums  Log Out

My crack at an AAR

View related threads: (in this forum | in all forums)

Logged in as: Guest
Users viewing this topic: none
  Printable Version
All Forums >> [Current Games From Matrix.] >> [World War II] >> Steel Panthers World At War & Mega Campaigns >> My crack at an AAR Page: [1]
Login
Message << Older Topic   Newer Topic >>
My crack at an AAR - 4/12/2001 2:49:00 AM   
00Dawg

This is my first try at an AAR, but I figure if I enjoy reading them so much, other people do too. AAR: Thunder at Banya Pass by Mike Amos. Location: Near Nadvornaya, Russia Date: May 2, 1944 Notes: Played with C&C off :rolleyes: . Mission: A Hungarian battlegroup is being sent to seize Banya Pass in order to secure the army's right flank. Recent attacks have caught the Russians in preparation for a new offensive, and only now are the Reds beginning to counterattack the Hungarian incursion. A sizable Russian force is heading towards the pass at the same time. As would be expected, both the Hungarian equipment and troops are of a somewhat lower quality than their Russian adversaries. My strategy is to slow down the initial Russian units with ambushes and flank attacks while allowing the infantry time to go around to the West and still reach the village in time to dig in. Turn one: My initial units consist of motorized infantry, several scout cars, , two 40 mm AA vehicles, , 4 75mm AT guns, and some very light tanks. I split my forces from the get go, sending the truck-carried infantry along the northwest road with two AT guns and an AA, and sending the scouts cars, motorcycle infantry, tanks, and the rest to the East towards the objective at a road junction. Turn two: Some Toldi IIA tanks arrive with their heavier 40mm guns, and I quickly send them along the northwest road to provide the infantry with some tanks support if