Matrix Games Forums

Forums  Register  Login  Photo Gallery  Member List  Search  Calendars  FAQ 

My Profile  Inbox  Address Book  My Subscription  My Forums  Log Out

OT: The mother of all wargames is impossible to play

View related threads: (in this forum | in all forums)

Logged in as: Guest
Users viewing this topic: none
  Printable Version
All Forums >> [New Releases from Matrix Games] >> War in the Pacific: Admiral's Edition >> OT: The mother of all wargames is impossible to play Page: [1]
Login
Message << Older Topic   Newer Topic >>
OT: The mother of all wargames is impossible to play - 4/5/2016 2:59:42 AM   
KMCCARTHY

See http://warisboring.com/articles/the-wretched-excess-of-the-campaign-for-north-africa/

I had several dozen SPI games, including War in the East (I graduated from High School in 1979), but I was never foolish enough to buy this.
Post #: 1
RE: OT: The mother of all wargames is impossible to play - 4/5/2016 3:31:59 AM   
CaptBeefheart

I had that game. I played one scenario for about four turns. Unfortunately, I dumped it somewhere along the way. Probably worth a fortune nowadays.

Cheers,
CC

Beer, because barley makes lousy bread.

(in reply to KMCCARTHY)
Post #: 2
RE: OT: The mother of all wargames is impossible to play - 4/5/2016 3:47:31 AM   
crsutton

About 400 bucks if new in the box. Other games will fetch as much. Scorched Earth (a much more playable game) will fetch about that much if not more.

I am the Holy Roman Emperor and am above grammar.

Sigismund of Luxemburg

(in reply to CaptBeefheart)
Post #: 3
RE: OT: The mother of all wargames is impossible to play - 4/5/2016 3:56:21 AM   
Zorch

quote:

ORIGINAL: crsutton

About 400 bucks if new in the box. Other games will fetch as much. Scorched Earth (a much more playable game) will fetch about that much if not more.

I own a copy in mint condition.
Never tried to play it...the game really cries out for computer assistance.

(in reply to crsutton)
Post #: 4