Matrix Games Forums

Forums  Register  Login  Photo Gallery  Member List  Search  Calendars  FAQ 

My Profile  Inbox  Address Book  My Subscription  My Forums  Log Out

Laying Mines

View related threads: (in this forum | in all forums)

Logged in as: Guest
Users viewing this topic: none
  Printable Version
All Forums >> [New Releases from Matrix Games] >> War in the Pacific: Admiral's Edition >> Laying Mines Page: [1]
Login
Message << Older Topic   Newer Topic >>
Laying Mines - 10/15/2016 11:13:43 PM   
101Man

It is Dec '43 and a fair amount of Japanese subs are routinely making their way into Sydney and San Francisco. My ASW assets are not cutting it. I want to place minefields in the port hex and maintain them but I've never done it before and so I hesitate. Will my ships sail into my own mines? If so, why have them? I've seen the damage they can do.
Post #: 1
RE: Laying Mines - 10/15/2016 11:22:39 PM   
btd64

There is always a chance that your ships will hit a friendly mine. But you will be laying a defensive mine field. Always a good idea against enemy subs. You should have a couple ACM's to maintian it....GP

Intel i7 4.3GHz 10th Gen,16GB Ram,Nvidia GeForce MX330

AKA General Patton

WPO,WITP,WITPAE-Mod Designer/Tester
DWU-Beta Tester
TOAW4-Alpha/Beta Tester

"Do everything you ask of those you command"....Gen. George S. Patton

(in reply to 101Man)
Post #: 2
RE: Laying Mines - 10/16/2016 12:15:51 AM   
crsutton

The odds are low. In fact most West Coast ports should have large minefields at game start. But if you do not have ACMs in the hex or base they will slowly degrade. However, December 43 and you should be sinking a lot of Japanese subs. Do some searches here on the forum for some ASW tips. You should have plenty of DEs on hand by now. They are the best ASW ships. Use them with aggressive TF leaders and heavy air search and you should murder Japanese submarines.

I am the Holy Roman Emperor and am above grammar.

Sigismund of Luxemburg