Matrix Games Forums

Forums  Register  Login  Photo Gallery  Member List  Search  Calendars  FAQ 

My Profile  Inbox  Address Book  My Subscription  My Forums  Log Out

New Map: South of Bremen

View related threads: (in this forum | in all forums)

Logged in as: Guest
Users viewing this topic: none
  Printable Version
All Forums >> [New Releases from Matrix Games] >> Flashpoint Campaigns Series >> Mods and Scenarios >> New Map: South of Bremen Page: [1]
Login
Message << Older Topic   Newer Topic >>
New Map: South of Bremen - 12/26/2016 4:17:19 PM   
Kairos

Hey guys,

I am new to the Flashpoint Campaigns world but have been really interested in mapmaking.

The map "South of Bremen" focusses on the southern municipalities in the vicinity of Bremen, Northern Germany. Terrain is mostly flat in marshland and lightly elevated with scattered forests in the upland part. The map style is less artistic but rather cartographic in design. I tried to find a balance between looks and realism. Locations of military relevance in the cold war period are a Nike-Hercules launching site and separated fire control area as well as a "Sonderwaffenlager and Standortmunitionslager".

As a geographer the technical aspects are not so much of a problem for me; however, I have no idea of scenarios, balancing and such. Maybe you are interested in trying out this map I created.

Tool and data used:
- QGIS
- ALOS 30m digital surface model by JAXA
- Open streen map data (UTM 32N projection).

Please feel free to check it out. Critique is highly welcome!

Attachment (1)
Post #: 1
RE: New Map: South of Bremen - 12/28/2016 10:14:28 PM   
WildCatNL

Hi Kairos,

that's a great first post. Great research for your map (2nd Syke Hawk FlaRak LA is just below the bottom of your map, otherwise you'd have added that one too!).