Matrix Games Forums

Forums  Register  Login  Photo Gallery  Member List  Search  Calendars  FAQ 

My Profile  Inbox  Address Book  My Subscription  My Forums  Log Out

AI milestone

View related threads: (in this forum | in all forums)

Logged in as: Guest
Users viewing this topic: none
  Printable Version
All Forums >> [New Releases from Matrix Games] >> War in the Pacific: Admiral's Edition >> AI milestone Page: [1]
Login
Message << Older Topic   Newer Topic >>
AI milestone - 10/19/2017 7:16:27 AM   
geoffreyg

A self-taught computer has become the world’s best player of Go, the fiendishly complex board game, without any input from human experts. DeepMind, Google’s artificial intelligence subsidiary in London, announced the milestone in AI less than two years after the highly publicised unveiling of AlphaGo, the first machine to beat human champions at the ancient Asian game. Details are published in the scientific journal Nature.
“It learns to play simply by playing games against itself, starting from completely random play,” said Demis Hassabis, DeepMind chief executive. “In doing so, it quickly surpassed human level of play and defeated the previously published version of AlphaGo by 100 games to zero.”

This is a major milestone in AI in my view - I understand it became the best player in the history of the game within some 70 hours!
Post #: 1
RE: AI milestone - 10/19/2017 8:04:00 AM   
belfry

Lets hope they don't let Mr Grigsby borrow it.......

(in reply to geoffreyg)
Post #: 2
RE: AI milestone - 10/19/2017 8:17:32 AM   
Rafid

With the amount of time a turn conclusion takes I wouldn't expect it to learn very quickly.

Also AIs are a lot better at perfect information games than at partially hidden games. WITPAE with its partial and flawed (aka fog of war) information is perhaps even worse.

(in reply to belfry)
Post #: 3
RE: AI milestone - 10/19/2017 9:08:39 AM   
GetAssista

quote:

ORIGINAL: geoffreyg