Matrix Games Forums

Forums  Register  Login  Photo Gallery  Member List  Search  Calendars  FAQ 

My Profile  Inbox  Address Book  My Subscription  My Forums  Log Out

Is Uncommon Valor to Hardcore of a Wargame for a Newb?

View related threads: (in this forum | in all forums)

Logged in as: Guest
Users viewing this topic: none
  Printable Version
All Forums >> [Current Games From Matrix.] >> [World War II] >> Uncommon Valor - Campaign for the South Pacific >> Is Uncommon Valor to Hardcore of a Wargame for a Newb? Page: [1]
Login
Message << Older Topic   Newer Topic >>
Is Uncommon Valor to Hardcore of a Wargame for a Newb? - 6/4/2003 11:28:58 AM   
beezneez

i love strategy games but have never played one of these "hardcore" games. this one looks complicted, which is good, but will i be clueless? im a ww2OL vet, love europa universalis 1 and 2, played and loved most of the close combat series. but i've never really gotten into a turnbased game like this one. it does sound like what im looking for, which is more depth and more intricate. would i like this considering my experiance?

and i see its out of stock at website here, can i still even buy it?
Post #: 1
- 6/4/2003 11:43:58 AM   
Fred98

I played Close Combat online for 5 years – mostly against 2 specific opponents. And we thoroughly enjoyed discussing the battles afterwards.

I never imagined that a turn based game could hold that level of tension and excitement. And I have never had any real interest in naval matters.

But UV has captured me.

You can give orders of a more general nature or you can be a grog player and study each and every one of the million details in the game.

The long scenario lasts for 600 days but you can set the turn length to 1 through 7 days.

In a game against the AI, you can set the turn length to “Continuous” and then step in and give an order when you need to.

If you play a shorter scenario, and set the difficulity to the hardest level, the AI is very tough.