Matrix Games Forums

Forums  Register  Login  Photo Gallery  Member List  Search  Calendars  FAQ 

My Profile  Inbox  Address Book  My Subscription  My Forums  Log Out

Operation Sledgehammer ’43

View related threads: (in this forum | in all forums)

Logged in as: Guest
Users viewing this topic: none
  Printable Version
All Forums >> [New Releases from Matrix Games] >> Gary Grigsby's War in the West >> After Action Reports >> Operation Sledgehammer ’43 Page: [1] 2 3 4 5   next >   >>
Login
Message << Older Topic   Newer Topic >>
Operation Sledgehammer ’43 - 6/5/2019 7:53:01 PM   
TankBushido

I just started playing the game and have enjoyed reading other AARs. There doesn’t seem to be a lot of activity on the forum, so I thought I’d try writing one. I haven’t played much so apologies if I’m missing some nuances of the game. I’ve played the Sicily scenario three times, enough to feel like I understood the mechanics and played eight turns into a campaign game before starting fresh on this one.

I will start with prose, but will try to find time to post pictures as well, but they may come later.

Game parameters:
I’m playing the Allies vs. the AI Germans on Normal difficulty. Eastern Front box is On.

I’m leaving the air operations to the AI; I’ll be setting objectives on the air operations screen except for taking control of air transports in certain situations to enable air drops, air transports, and air supply. I played the air portion a bit and I feel like I understand it, but it’s a lot of micro-management so I’m going to try and get by with the AI running the air operations for the sake of expediency. I find the game progresses three times as fast when I just focus on the ground game.

Grand strategy: