Matrix Games Forums

Forums  Register  Login  Photo Gallery  Member List  Search  Calendars  FAQ 

My Profile  Inbox  Address Book  My Subscription  My Forums  Log Out

Liberation (seemingly harmless) bug

 
View related threads: (in this forum | in all forums)

Logged in as: Guest
Users viewing this topic: none
  Printable Version
All Forums >> [New Releases from Matrix Games] >> World in Flames >> Tech Support >> Liberation (seemingly harmless) bug Page: [1]
Login
Message << Older Topic   Newer Topic >>
Liberation (seemingly harmless) bug - 6/29/2020 6:16:19 PM   
No New Messages
Admiral Delabroglio
Matrix Trooper



Posts: 116
Joined: 11/12/2005
Status: offline
Hello

Japan conquered Australia.
Then the CW liberated Australia

Australian hexes are now identified as aligned minor controlled hexes with the upwards near-diagonal nearly bisecting the flag and not CW home country full flag
Now it gets weird : Japan reconquered some hexes, the control of which was transferred to Japan. Then I cancelled the move that had given the control the control, so that the hexes reverted back ... to the CW, with a full CW flag. It does not seem to have any bad side effect, but I think it is wrong all the same.

(Cosmetic only ?) Germany conquered all the hexes around lake Onega, which was still USSR controlled. Would it be possible to change the control of full lake hexes wholly surrounded by another power than the former lake controller ? It does not really affect the game, perhaps with the exception of safe rebase (*3 range) for planes, and the idea of those lakes blocking the safe rebase increased range feels wrong. I did not check the range, though, and now in the pseudo game I'm playing in order to ferret out weird occurrences, Germany conquered the USSR so that I can't verify it any longer.

Best Regards

_____________________________

Admiral Delabroglio
Post #: 1
RE: Liberation (seemingly harmless) bug - 6/30/2020 11:59:35 AM   
No New Messages
Centuur
Matrix Legion of Merit



Posts: 8802
Joined: 6/3/2011
From: Hoorn (NED).
Status: offline
There is no rule in the boardgame, which would allow the chance of control for full lake hexes to a major power who controls all part lake hexsides surrounding it.

If one wants to control a hex, one should move a land unit through the hex or wait until liberation/conquest takes place. For all lake hexes, that will mean that if you need to control that hex, one should wait until it's frozen and move a land unit across them.

Yes, that rule seems to be strange, where lakes are concerned, but it's the rules.


_____________________________

Peter

(in reply to Admiral Delabroglio)
Post #: 2
RE: Liberation (seemingly harmless) bug - 7/1/2020 3:29:26 PM   
No New Messages
Admiral Delabroglio
Matrix Trooper



Posts: 116
Joined: 11/12/2005
Status: offline
This is where the rule is not completely clear. From the CE rule book, but I don't think that rule has changed since FE :

"A home country or territory consists of every hex that a MAR could reach from the capital of that home country or name of the territory without crossing a red political boundary or entering a hex controlled by another territory or country."

Note that the rule says neither "in snow / blizzard weather" nor "in fair / rain / storm"
Hence, a MAR unit could walk to the Onega lake hexes during snow weather, making those hexes USSR controlled hexes and its fish loyal soviet citizen. Comes the spring, the ice melts, thoses hexes are now lake hexes that a MAR unit could NOT enter. The said fish decide to get rid of the soviet yoke and become an independent entity, until the lake freezes again.

The control changing depending on the weather conditions is obviously absurd, so maybe the solution to give their control to the major power controlling the whole lake shore is the best solution (country controlling most hexes from a side if needed, country with the closest capital in the case of a tie). For shared lakes such as Ladoga, use the boundary for control until one side controls the whole shore.

Maybe also state that non frozen lake hexes are considered hostile to neither side for plane rebase purpose.

Perhaps a clharryfication could help us here

Best regards

_____________________________

Admiral Delabroglio

(in reply to Centuur)
Post #: 3
Page:   [1]
All Forums >> [New Releases from Matrix Games] >> World in Flames >> Tech Support >> Liberation (seemingly harmless) bug Page: [1]
Jump to:





New Messages No New Messages
Hot Topic w/ New Messages Hot Topic w/o New Messages
Locked w/ New Messages Locked w/o New Messages
 Post New Thread
 Reply to Message
 Post New Poll
 Submit Vote
 Delete My Own Post
 Delete My Own Thread
 Rate Posts


Forum Software © ASPPlayground.NET Advanced Edition 2.4.5 ANSI

0.688