Matrix Games Forums

Forums  Register  Login  Photo Gallery  Member List  Search  Calendars  FAQ 

My Profile  Inbox  Address Book  My Subscription  My Forums  Log Out

And I tought I knew every tactics... :)

View related threads: (in this forum | in all forums)

Logged in as: Guest
Users viewing this topic: none
  Printable Version
All Forums >> [Current Games From Matrix.] >> [World War II] >> Steel Panthers World At War & Mega Campaigns >> SPWaW AAR/DAR >> And I tought I knew every tactics... :) Page: [1] 2   next >   >>
Login
Message << Older Topic   Newer Topic >>
And I tought I knew every tactics... :) - 8/14/2003 5:56:58 AM   
RichardTheFirst

As you know I'm a vet in this game. I played Campaigns, Scenarios, Mega Campaigns, PBEM and so on. So I thought I knew every little trick and small tactic in this game.

But this one came as a cool surprise.

There is nothing more annoying than having one of your favourite tanks blasted by a mine in the beginning of a battle in a Mega Campaign.

After that, the more annoying thing is having one of such squads paralyzed by a mine in those conditions. I mean, you will not commit an engineer unit to clear all the mines because the probability of the crew be able to repair the tank is small.

Well I had one of my PzIIIe immobilized (an almost elite unit) with a static Matilda II firing at him from the distance.

You know how it is long range fighting with Matildas: a no win situation! So I decided do bail out, lay some smoke with the crew, hide the crew, and eventually come back to the tank 1 or 2 turns before the end of battle.

Bailed out and laid some smoke. I stayed at the same place because I couldn't move anymore.

At the end of the turn I was surprised to see that the crew was able to clear 4 mines. Hmmmmm.

I had some more smoke grenades so I decided to bail out again throw another one and stay. End of turn - 3 more mines :)

Same operation and the crew cleared the hex :):)