Matrix Games Forums

Forums  Register  Login  Photo Gallery  Member List  Search  Calendars  FAQ 

My Profile  Inbox  Address Book  My Subscription  My Forums  Log Out

Novice Question: Pocketed enemies - Mop up asap, wait, or just leave?

View related threads: (in this forum | in all forums)

Logged in as: Guest
Users viewing this topic: none
  Printable Version
All Forums >> [New Releases from Matrix Games] >> Gary Grigsby's War in the East 2 >> Novice Question: Pocketed enemies - Mop up asap, wait, or just leave? Page: [1]
Login
Message << Older Topic   Newer Topic >>
Novice Question: Pocketed enemies - Mop up asap, wait, ... - 4/7/2021 6:44:13 AM   
gf85

Sorry for the novice question I am new to this series.

After struggling for 20 hours learning the basic and with a few restarts, I finally pull out an okay-ly satisfied T1.
But soon I have problems in determining the phase of advancement.
It's just T4 now but many spearhead units are already suffering overextension, very low on CPP and supplies level.
And other problems are the pocketed soviet troops, I can't make my mind should I mop them up asap and keep advance, or should I wait for a few turns to soften them up, or just leave a few troops to keep an eye on them and keep pushing.

Moping them up requires lots of troop being held back for turns and many of pocketed enemies are still hard nuts to crack.
Waiting for them to soften up require even more time.
Leave them alone with a few troops behind seems good but I am afraid they will just wandering around stealing my depot and jeopardize the logistic of advancing troops.

The sudden death bar makes me nervous... I have played some smaller scale hex and counter wargame. Most of these game encourages players to advance swift and fast. Especially when you are playing Germany on the Eastern front, the historical capture day does make me worry if I am lagging behine...