Matrix Games Forums

Forums  Register  Login  Photo Gallery  Member List  Search  Calendars  FAQ 

My Profile  Inbox  Address Book  My Subscription  My Forums  Log Out

How to advance tactics question

View related threads: (in this forum | in all forums)

Logged in as: Guest
Users viewing this topic: none
  Printable Version
All Forums >> [Current Games From Matrix.] >> [World War II] >> Steel Panthers World At War & Mega Campaigns >> SP:WaW Training Center >> How to advance tactics question Page: [1]
Login
Message << Older Topic   Newer Topic >>
How to advance tactics question - 4/1/2004 5:38:49 AM   
minefield

I'm new to PBEM, and I'm struggling with attacking. I am using combined arms, heavy on the infantry. I keep running into situations where either the hexes I need to advance to have been smoked to visibily 1 or I'm forced to approach in open terrain to a hill.
For the low visibility situation, I have tried advancing with small squads (PzShrek), with larger squads, with soft targets, with flamepanzers, and with tanks. I either get pushed back in the case of the infantry or the tank is suppressed beyond help. Mortar fire seems to do more damage to my troops than to theirs. I have timed it for the beginning of his round and at the end.

For the open ground situation, I am still having trouble. Is the key to cover your advance with ATG's?

I did ok in my first PBEM because I reached the objectives before my opponent so I was able to make a defensive stance. In these two current PBEM's I am withering my troops away everytime they attempt to take a VH.

So basically, if you were going to take a hill, how would you do it?

< Message edited by minefield -- 3/31/2004 10:38:22 PM >

never cross a minefield
Post #: 1
RE: How to advance tactics question - 4/2/2004 4:04:58 PM   
Buzzard45

There are many ways to advance. Going into smoke is no harder than advancing into trees or through a town perhaps easier.