Matrix Games Forums

Forums  Register  Login  Photo Gallery  Member List  Search  Calendars  FAQ 

My Profile  Inbox  Address Book  My Subscription  My Forums  Log Out

Scenario Design - VP Balance discussion

View related threads: (in this forum | in all forums)

Logged in as: Guest
Users viewing this topic: none
  Printable Version
All Forums >> [Current Games From Matrix.] >> [World War II] >> Steel Panthers World At War & Mega Campaigns >> Scenario Design - VP Balance discussion Page: [1]
Login
Message << Older Topic   Newer Topic >>
Scenario Design - VP Balance discussion - 12/8/2001 9:23:00 PM   
generalrichmond

There was a thread on this a while back, but I wanted to start it up again and start speaking particulars for suggestions on VP balance and considerations when constructing scenarios. I am fairly new to SPWaW scenario design and am concerned with creating proper balances within scenarios in regards to VPs, since in campaigns this is crucial. It is obvious, then, that one must consider just *what* would be required to consider a victory for the player as a decisive victory. Given that, I consider the TOTAL VALUE POINT of the enemy (AI) force and consider the loss of a certain percentage of it as necessary. This generates a certain number of points. Then I consider the balance needed in VP objective occupation and work that in. Of course, that goes for a general battle. If it was a quick advance where the player was to occupy ground and just sweep aside any resistance, then VP hexes would get the brunt of the consideration for balance. Conversely the type of scenario where a player needs to essentially crush the enemy and VP objectives are few. A real mauling is necessary. Those are the three types of battles I know of and each has slightly different impacts on how you use VPs. I know the button to alter the value of either force is quite important. I am speaking of the one that can drop a force's value up or down in percentages (available in the editor