Matrix Games Forums

Forums  Register  Login  Photo Gallery  Member List  Search  Calendars  FAQ 

My Profile  Inbox  Address Book  My Subscription  My Forums  Log Out

Uses of HMGvs MMG ?

View related threads: (in this forum | in all forums)

Logged in as: Guest
Users viewing this topic: none
  Printable Version
All Forums >> [Current Games From Matrix.] >> [World War II] >> Steel Panthers World At War & Mega Campaigns >> SP:WaW Training Center >> Uses of HMGvs MMG ? Page: [1]
Login
Message << Older Topic   Newer Topic >>
Uses of HMGvs MMG ? - 6/25/2004 3:53:59 PM   
Yamashita

Noticed in my last game - Jap. vs USSR '39 assault that my HMGs were pretty useless as after moving they have no shots left. i'm wondering if I should change them to MMGs for greater flexibility?

Please share your uses & preferences for these 2 MG classes!

Now so far out of 3 battles they have all been at night with visibility ranging from 7 to 3 hexes. I'm new to this night fighting thing but it is proving an interesting challenge- tho I ssuspect it would be less interesting if the Soviet forces didn't have such horrible exp & command ratings.

Thank you!
Post #: 1
RE: Uses of HMGvs MMG ? - 6/25/2004 4:22:05 PM   
Voriax

MMG's will also have zero shots after moving. If your hmg is a small calibre weapon then the differences between it and and mmg are rather small. HE kill tends to be bigger in hmg, but it is usually slower. You better use the oob editor to examine the various weapons.
However if you were playing Soviets then I'd suggest you get 12,7mm DShK hmg's. They are very effective against lightly armoured vehicles, not mentioning soft targets.

Voriax

Oh God give Me strength to accept those things I cannot change with a firearm!

(in reply to Yamashita)
Post #: 2
RE: Uses of HMGvs MMG ? - 6/25/2004 5:06:51 PM   
FlashfyreSP