Matrix Games Forums

Forums  Register  Login  Photo Gallery  Member List  Search  Calendars  FAQ 

My Profile  Inbox  Address Book  My Subscription  My Forums  Log Out

newbie in wargames needing advices!

View related threads: (in this forum | in all forums)

Logged in as: Guest
Users viewing this topic: none
  Printable Version
All Forums >> [General] >> General Discussion >> newbie in wargames needing advices! Page: [1]
Login
Message << Older Topic   Newer Topic >>
newbie in wargames needing advices! - 1/13/2001 5:50:00 PM   
jorlando

Hi! I'm a newbie in wargames... I didn't played one until SPWAW... the closest to a wargame that I was before, was when I used to play a cardboard game called WAR, that was very popular here in Brazil (very similar to te game RISK). I also don't have any military experience, so terms like OOB seem arcane to me. Since I think to translate SPWAW to Portuguese, I'll need these terms, to correlate them to the Portuguese equivalent, and I need to learn them to play better :-) So, in short, were can I find such type of information? There is something like a military glossary of terms and acronyms? And what should I read to sharpen my strategic skills? I played the tutorial and managed to destroy the German forces in 13 turns... it was a smashing victory, but I used more brute force than strategy, so I lost many units in the process... I also heard that military use to play wargames to learn tatics and combat strategies... SPWAW is one of these games? Sorry for the long post and bad English :-) Thanks for you attention!

Post #: 1
- 1/14/2001 3:27:00 AM   
Les_the_Sarge_9_1